Kalapani Trek Tour

Kalapani Trek Tour Booking

Homestay in Bhitmal @1500


13 Years Experience

Uttarakhand Trekking Camping

Renuka Vihar, Bangali Kothi Chowk

Opposite Uttrakhand Gramin Bank

Banjarawala, Dehradun

Uttarakhand 248001

About Kalapani

Kalapani, located in Dharchula, is a region known for its significance as the source of the Kali River. Situated in the easternmost part of Uttarakhand, India, Kalapani holds historical, geographical, and geopolitical importance.

Kalapani: The Source of Kali River

The Kali River originates from the Kalapani region, making it a crucial water source for the surrounding areas. The river serves as a lifeline for agriculture, irrigation, and hydroelectric projects in both India and Nepal.

Dispute with Nepal over Kalapani

Kalapani has been at the center of a territorial dispute between India and Nepal. Both countries claim sovereignty over the region, leading to ongoing tensions and diplomatic negotiations to resolve the issue.


Kalapani is situated in the Dharchula region of Uttarakhand, India, near the border with Nepal. It is nestled in the rugged terrain of the Himalayas, surrounded by breathtaking natural beauty.

How to Reach Kalapani

Reaching Kalapani involves traveling to Dharchula, which is accessible by road from major cities in Uttarakhand. From Dharchula, one can trek or travel by vehicle to reach Kalapani, navigating through mountainous terrain and picturesque landscapes.

Trek to Kalapani from Tawaghat

The trek to Kalapani from Tawaghat is a challenging yet rewarding journey. Trekkers traverse through dense forests, rocky paths, and steep inclines, experiencing the raw beauty of the Himalayas along the way.

What is Kalapani famous for?

Kalapani is famous for being the source of the Kali River and for its historical significance as a disputed territory between India and Nepal. The region's natural beauty, rich biodiversity, and cultural heritage also contribute to its fame among adventurers, researchers, and tourists.

Trek to Kalapani from Tawaghat Itinerary

The trek to Kalapani from Tawaghat offers adventurers a thrilling journey through the rugged terrain of the Himalayas. Here's a suggested itinerary for the trek:

Day 1: Tawaghat to Dharchula

Begin your journey from Tawaghat and travel to Dharchula, a town located near the border with Nepal. Spend the night in Dharchula to rest and prepare for the trek ahead.

Day 2: Dharchula to Dantu

Embark on your trek from Dharchula to Dantu, a picturesque village nestled amidst the mountains. Trekking through scenic landscapes, you'll witness stunning views of the Himalayan peaks.

Day 3: Dantu to Kalapani

Continue your journey from Dantu to Kalapani, the source of the Kali River. Trekking through dense forests and rocky terrain, you'll finally reach Kalapani, where you can marvel at the natural beauty of the surroundings.

Day 4: Explore Kalapani

Spend a day exploring the beauty of Kalapani and its surroundings. Take in the majestic views of the Himalayas, immerse yourself in the tranquility of the region, and learn about the cultural significance of the area.

Day 5: Return Journey

Begin your return journey from Kalapani to Dharchula, retracing your steps through the mesmerizing landscapes of the Himalayas. From Dharchula, you can travel back to Tawaghat, concluding your memorable trek.


Adi Kailash Trek Agoda Village Tour Package Ali Bedni Bugyal Tour Package Alka Puri Glacier in Bardinath Anusuya Devi Temple & Atri Muni Ashram Audens Col Trek Bagini Glacier Trek Bali Trek Bamsaru Khal Trek Bansi Narayan Templek Baraadsar Tal Trek Benog Tibba Mussoorie Bhoj Kharak Bhojbasa Tour Bhyundar Khal Trek Bisurital Trek Borasu Pass Trek Brahmatal Trek Budha Madmaheshwar Trek Chaainsheel Bugyal Chandak Hills Pithoragarh Chandrashila Trek Tour Chattrakund Lake Tour Chenab Lake Tour Chenap Valley Tour Chipla Kedar Trek Chirbasa Trek Chopta Trek Chorabari Glacier Darma Valley Darwa Pass Trek Dayara Bugyal Trek Deoria Tal Trek Dev Kyara Bugyal Trek Dhakuri Trek Tour Dharansi Pass Trek Dhumdhar Kandi Pass Trek Dokriani Glacier Trek Harsil Horns Trek Gandhi Sarovar Gangnani Town Tour Gangotri Glacier Ghangharia Vallery Ghuttu Village Gidara Bugyal Trek Gorson Bugyal Govind Wildlife Sanctuary Govindghat Tour Gulabikantha Trek Gupt Khal Trek Har Ki Dhun Trek Homkund Lake Trek Jaundhar Glacier Trek Juda Ka Talab Trek Kafni Glacier Trek Kagbhusandi Tal Lake Trek Kala Naag Base Camp Trek Kalapani Trek Kalpeshwar Temple Trek Kanakata Pass Trek Kanari Khal Trek Kanchani Tal Trek Kartik Swami Trek Kedarkantha Trek Khaliya Top Trek Khatling Glacier Trek Khero Valley Trek Kuari Pass Trek Kush Kalyan Trek Kyarkoti Lake Trek Lipulekh Pass Trek Madmaheshwar Trek Maiktoli Glacier Trek Mandani Valley Trek Marinda Tal Trek Masar Tal Lake Trek Mayali Pass Trek Milam Glacier Trek Mukta Top Trek Munsiyari Trek Nag Tibba Trek Nalgan Pass Trek Namik Glacier Trek Nanda Devi Base Camp Nandi Kund Lake Neergarh Waterfalls I & II Pakuwa Bugyal Trek Panchachuli Base Camp Trek Pandavsera Trek Pangarchulla Trek Tour Panpatia Col Trek Panwali Kantha Trek Phool Chatti Waterfall Trek Phulara Bugyal Trek Pinnath Trek Pushtar Bugyal Trek Ralam Dhurra Pass Trek Rishikund Trek Rohini Bugyal Trek Ronti Saddle Trek Roopkund Trek Rudugaira Trek Ruinsara Tal Trek Rupin Pass Trek Sahastra Tal Trek Saptrishi Kund Trek Saru Tal Trek Satopanth Lake Trek Sunderdhunga Glacier Trek Swargarohini Peak Trek Thamri Kund Trek Tiprabamak Glacier Trek Trekking in Kedarnath Wildlife Sanctuary Trekking in Munsiyari Tungnath Trek Valley of Flowers Trek Yamunotri Trek Yamunotri Temple Uttarkashi


Camping in Rishikesh Dodital Trek Gaumukh Tapovan Trek Tapovan Trek Hemkund Sahib Trek Homestay in Bhimtal Kalindi Khal Trek Kedarnath Trek Kedartal Trek Pangarchulla Trek Phulara Ridge Trek Pndari Glacier Trek Rudranath Trek Tapovan Trek